The Student News Site of Dillard University


The Student News Site of Dillard University


The Student News Site of Dillard University


SGA presidential candidate unopposed: Kennedy Watson

J. Quenton Cooper/Courtbouillon
From left are Nia Randolph, John Lawson II and Toiya Smith, the candidates for SGA vice president, give their platforms at the speeches and debates on April 5 in Georges Auditorium.

NEW ORLEANS (April 6, 2018) – Elections for student government positions are scheduled to be held Wednesday, April 11, with the top spot of SGA president among the 11 with solo candidates.

To vote, students should log in to Bleu Connect online and click on the link that will open the ballot.

Eleven positions, including that of Student Government Association president, are being filled by unopposed candidates, according to the ballot released by Courtney Williams, director of student engagement and leadership. These also include slots for Student Government Association secretary, treasurer and parliamentarian; Senior Class president; Junior Class secretary; and most Sophomore Class offices.

New unopposed officers are Kennedy Watson, SGA president; Arienna Miller, SGA secretary; Brianna Thomas, SGA treasurer; Leah Erby, SGA parliamentarian; Madison Torry, Senior Class president; and Shawndrea Pierre, Junior Class secretary.

Additionally, single candidates won spots as Sophomore Class officers: Tiara Hamilton, president; Lydia Page Moffett, vice president; Rachel Riley, secretary; Kelasia Edwards, treasurer; and Carlos Pollard, senator.

The only Sophomore Class positions to be decided Wednesday are Mister and Miss Sophomore.

Following are candidates in elections with competition.

SGA and class offices

  • SGA vice president: John Lawson II, Nia Randolph and Toiya Smith.
  • Junior Class parliamentarian: Dominique Jones and Dazjah Samuels.

Royal court

  • Miss Dillard: Kristiana Coleman and Keadria Miller.
  • Mister Dillard: Joseph Caldwell and Akheem Dowl.
  • Miss Senior: Alexis Cole, Haleigh Collier and Jasmyne Cooks.
  • Mister Senior: Hampton Craig and Elliott Hudson.
  • Miss Junior: Precious Butler, Jasmine Elliott, Kandace Jones-Webb, Tyler Racklin, Essence Thomas and Armani Watts.
  • Mister Junior: Anthony Harrell, Deshawn Odom and Todd Welch.
  • Miss Sophomore: Breanna Bailey and Heaven Boudy.
  • Mister Sophomore: Mekhi Hayes, Seantrell Lemar and Justin Matthews.

Nominations for the 2018-2019 SGA positions were accepted through March 16, following by a “meet and greet” with candidates April 2 and speeches and debates on April 5.

Leave a Comment
Donate to Courtbouillon

Your donation will support the student journalists of Dillard University. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to Courtbouillon

Comments (0)

All Courtbouillon Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
SGA presidential candidate unopposed: Kennedy Watson