The Student News Site of Dillard University


The Student News Site of Dillard University


The Student News Site of Dillard University


Urban studies, physic majors to reign over 2020-21 DU royal court

NEW ORLEANS (April 21, 2020) – A Los Angeles urban studies major and an Atlanta physics major won the crowns of Miss and Mister Dillard after runoff elections March 18, according to the Division of Student Success.

Rising seniors Kaylan Tanner and Justin Mathews will reign as Dillard University’s newest royalty for the 2020-21 academic year.

Meanwhile, Traelon Rodgers, the incumbent SGA president, won his second term unopposed as a junior. Also elected by acclamation were freshman DeAndre Bell as vice president and freshmen Valesha Rhodes as secretary. Khaelyn Jackson, a New Orleans sophomore accounting majo, was elected SGA treasurer, defeating defeated Jordan Kane with 73.8 percent of the vote.

Tanner defeated former SGA Treasurer Alicia Hoey, and Mathews defeated former Mister Junior Mehki Hayes to head the royal court for 2020-21.

Royal court candidates were ranked not only by student votes, which accounted for half, but also by individual interviews (20 percent) and the showcase (30 percent). All three totals were combined for one score. The highest score each Miss and Mister Dillard candidate could receive was 86 while candidates for the remainder of the court could get up to 80 points each.

According to official results, Tanner polled 53.2 percent of the votes (28.5 on her interview and 95.3 for the showcase). Altogether, the winner scored 60.9. Hoey received 6.45 less percentage points of the votes (at 46.8 percent), 22.75 for the interview and 93.6 for the showcase, for a total of 56.

Mathews polled 70 percent of the votes, and received 23.5 for his interview and 89.3 for showcase. Altogether, Mathews scored 66.51. Hayes received 30 percent of the student votes, 23.75 for the interview and 94 for the showcase, for a total of 47.9.

Other members of the court will include:

– Miss Senior: DeJah Linson (51.2 points), who defeated Makeda Royal (50.2 points).

– Mister Senior: Daylon Daye, who outperformed Rodney Perkins 52.01 points to 52.006 points, respectively.

– Miss Junior: DeJoan Mitchell, who bested both Shania Hill (35.5 points), and Aria Townes, (33.3 points) with 57.4 points.

– Mister Junior: Walter Dixson IV, who outpaced David Rhodes 55 points to 48.7 points, respectively.

– Miss Sophomore: Amira Gilford, who won over Kennedy Musgrave 57.8 points to 44.6 points.

– Mister Sophomore: Jaren Barnes defeated Taye-Rafael Jackson 65.7 points to 34 points, respectively.

Class councils

This year the student senate voted to eliminate class council. Only a class representative and three senators were elected.

Winning sophomore candidates include:

– Representative: Jerika Edwards

– Senators: Kristin Patterson, Ayriah Barr and Kalaya Sibley

Winning junior candidates include:

– Senators: Lauren Petry and Amaya Sweeney. (The junior ballot did not include candidates for representatives.)

The senior class did not have a ballot for a representative or senators.

Nominations for the 2020-2021 SGA positions were accepted Feb 20. To be considered eligible for an SGA elected office, a candidate must have had a 3.0 minimum cumulative grade-point average. To be considered eligible for class council, the candidate must have had at least a 2.75, no judicial hearings and meet the number of community service hours specific to each class

Runoffs were held March 18. Freshman class elections are held each fall.

Leave a Comment
Donate to Courtbouillon

Your donation will support the student journalists of Dillard University. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to Courtbouillon

Comments (0)

All Courtbouillon Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
Urban studies, physic majors to reign over 2020-21 DU royal court